It’s just been one of those nights.

Originally I was scheduled to work during the day, but earlier this week, I agreed to switch my hours to an overnight. NOT something I wanted to do, so as I headed to work tonight, I was trying to find the silver lining. I didn’t find it. What I did find was an unidentified piece of debris in the road followed by an ominous “thump, thump” noise.

I pulled over immediately, hit the hazards, and hopped out to inspect. Sure enough, flat as a pancake. Sigh.

I called JP, and she came immediately. Thanks to our insurance, we have free roadside assistance. Unfortunately, because I had to be at work so late, all the local repair shops were closed. We contemplated having it towed and letting it sit at the shop overnight, but the flat had occurred in a nice, safe residential neighborhood (silver lining!) and therefore we figured it would be better to leave it where it was and have it towed in the morning. But then I had a brilliant thought! We have a donut spare and all the equipment necessary to change a tire! We could change it so I could limp the last three miles to work, then take it to the shop in the morning. I’d never done it before, but I’d seen it done. I can’t be that hard, right?

So wrong. Actually, the procedure was easy. It was loosening the lug nuts that left me shaking with exhaustion and nursing bruises on my palms. But we did it! And I was so proud! Until we stood back and looked at it. And JP said, “Is it just me, or is the spare also flat?”

No, I’m not kidding. I only wish I was.

At this point, I was an hour and a half late for work, and no closer to mobile. Luckily my boss was really nice about the whole thing, picked me up and promised to take me to the shop tomorrow to pick up the car. JP went home and set the clock for 5am so that she could get up, meet the tow truck, and take the car to the shop before clocking in at 8am.

Over all, it could have been MUCH worse, and I’m thankful it wasn’t. But tonight just sucks. And I don’t want to look for the silver lining anymore. I just want to lay here and sulk while I nurse my sore hands.

