It’s been a crazy year, hasn’t it? I know I don’t always tell you how much I love you or all the reasons I love you. So, in honor of your 23rd birthday, here are 23 random reasons I love you:

1. You bring out the kid in me. With you, I’m not afraid to be silly.

2. You are brave. Between your recent health scare and all the stress at work lately, I know there have been times lately when you would have liked to curl up in a ball and hide from the world. Instead, you face your problems head on.

3. But you aren’t too proud to come to me for comfort.

4. You spend a ridiculous amount of time on your hair. I know I tease you for it, but it’s cute.

5. Speaking of cute…you know *squeeze*

6. You adopted my dog and love him as your own. He loves you almost as much as I do. If anything were to ever happen to me, you are the only person in the world who I would trust to love him and take care of him the way I do.

7. You worry about me.Even though I sometimes think it’s unnecessary, I always think it’s sweet.

8. You love music. You’ve introduced me to some great artists who I never would have listened to otherwise.

9. You are so nice. You can’t be mean to strangers, even when you want to. You are so unlike me in that way.

10. You love your family. No matter how often they disappoint you, you aren’t willing to give up on them.

11. Little things makes you happy. Like stringing lights on the banister or choosing the right fabric softener.

12. You can watch hours and hours of Degrassi back-to-back without a break, never tiring of it.

13. You never tire of talking about our first date, first kiss, etc.

14. You make me breakfast on the weekends.

15. You feel guilty when you go out with your friends without me. You don’t need to, but you do anyway.

16. When you do go out without me, you call or text me at some point just to check on me.

17. You love having a clean house and you do your part to keep it that way. (Okay, sometimes you do more than your part.)

18. You indulge me in my baby name obsession, and gamely help me think up names for our future children.

19. And you have really good taste in baby names. Thank goodness.

20. You revel in your weird quirks because you know they make you unique.

21. You love good food. Not fancy food, but good, hearty, classic foods.

22. You encourage me. In everything from my hobbies to my future plans, you support me and cheer me on.

23. You chose me. You could be with anyone, but you chose me. When things get rough, there’s no one else I’d rather have at my side. And I love knowing you feel the same way.

Happy birthday, my love. I hope this is your best year yet.

