Last night, on our way to dinner, JP and I passed yet another car sporting a “Jesus is the Reason for the Season” bumper sticker. Once I finished throwing up in my mouth, I started ranting about how much I hate that slogan. Now you can be privy to my grievances as well. Lucky you.

I am SO SICK of hearing Christians talk about “taking back” Christmas or “protecting” Christmas. No one is trying to cancel Christmas. And, ironically, most of these so-called Christmas traditions that these Christians are so adamant about protecting and preserving, were not theirs to begin with — they were appropriated from other religions and cultures. Decorating trees, hanging mistletoe and ivy, lighting the yule log, exchanging gifts…all of those traditions were appropriated from other winter holiday festivals. Yet Christians freak out when cities or institutions decide to rename their Christmas tress “holiday trees” in an attempt to be inclusive. I could choke on the irony.

The thing is, I have nothing against Christmas. I don’t even mind the Christian aspects of the holiday. I don’t shriek in horror when I spot the baby Jesus. I just hate the Christians who don’t want to share. Those who think it’s THEIR holiday and anyone who doesn’t see things their way is STEALING it or RUINING it. Those who want to boycott stores whose signs say “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas” or who rend their clothing at the thought of a city-sponsored Nativity set being taken down. They don’t want equality. They want special rights and privileges.

All of that ill-informed presumption is summed up nicely in a cute little rhyming phrase: “Jesus is the reason for the season.”

Everytime I see one of those sticker or pins, I want to scream. No. No he is NOT the reason for the season. He certainly is not the reason for these holiday traditions. Nor he isn’t the reason for the “season” — that’s thanks to the tilt of the earth’s axis. Last night, when I was ranting about this, I told JP that I wanted to make my own sticker one that said, “The earth’s axis is the reason for the season.”

Apparently I’m not the only one to think up that snippy comeback. Today one of my favorite authors and bloggers posted this graphic on his website. It made my day season.

