Meet the Beastlet (a miniature version of the Beastie)…

When the breeder called yesterday to say that the puppy had had her shots and was ready to go whenever we were ready to pick her up, there was no question of waiting until Saturday. I had the day off work and JP was able to take the day off, so away we went to the mountains of North Georgia, the land that time forgot, where the view is spectacular and the towns are a little creepy. (How many Jesus signs does one town need? I’m just saying…)

Once we saw her in person, we were even more in love. She is so tiny and adorable. Even though at full grown she’ll be much smaller than Winston, she’s actually already bigger than he was when I brought him home. She was one of the biggest of her litter and the breeder said she has been eating like a horse and bossing around all of her siblings. Not exactly a delicate little flower, that one. Of course, that hasn’t stopped us (okay, me) from dolling her up in a sparkly pink collar and carrying her around in a purse.

JP is off for the rest of week, so Lilah will have someone home with her to help her get accustomed to her new surroundings. So far she is settling in pretty well. All she does so far is eat, sleep and poop. Luckily, she’s already good at crying when she needs to go out and almost all of her pottying has been done outside. Unfortunately we are not so lucky when it comes to her sleep schedule. She slept all day yesterday and then spent all night crying. I think we got a grand total of two hours sleep. Let me tell you, I was not pleased when my alarm went off at 4:15 this morning.

The hardest part for me so far has not been the lack of sleep though, it’s watching the Beastie react. Although I’m sure he will warm up to her, right now he is absolutely miserable. He’s terrified of her (I know, he’s a freak) and will not even LOOK at her. The ride home from the breeder went a lot like this:

At home, he spent most of his time upstairs in bed, avoiding all of us. When he does come down, he lurks on the edges of the room, never getting very close. We’ve been trying to spend time with him one-on-one and give him lots of treats. That seems to help. He doesn’t seem mad at us, he’s just skittish and nervous. I think the only remedy is time. Once he figures out that she is not dangerous, hopefully he’ll come around.

